New Realities for Global Health Security



InterAction Council Members

1.     H.E. Mr. Bertie Ahern (former Prime Minister), Ireland


2.     Dr. Thomas S. Axworthy, Distinguished Senior Fellow, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto

Special Guests

3.     Prof. Mark Bellis, Director of Policy, Research and Development, Public Health Wales; Chairs, World Health Organization Collaborating Centre for Violence Prevention, Centre for Public Health, Liverpool John Moores University

4.     Dr. Tracey Cooper, Chief Executive, Public Health Wales

5.     Prof. Mark Drakeford, Minister for Health and Social Services, Welsh Government

6.     Mr. Nicholas Fogg, former Mayor of Marlborough

7.     Prof. Simon Gibson, Chief Executive, Wesley Clover Corporation

8.     Professor Sir Andy Haines, Professor of Public Health and Primary Care, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

9.     Prof. Peter Halligan, Chief Executive, Learned Society of Wales

10.  Ms. Anne Harmer, Programme Manager, Research for Health in Humanitarian Crises, Enhanced Learning and Research for Humanitarian Assistance

11.  Ms. Sophie Howe, Future Generations Commissioner for Wales

12.  Prof. Iliona Kickbusch, Director of the Global Health Programme, The Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva

13.  Lt. Gen. Louis Lillywhite, Senior Research Fellow, Chatham House Centre for Global Health Security

14.  Dr. Brian McCloskey, Director of Global Health, Public Health England; UK Strategy Advisor, Office of the UN Special Envoy on Ebola

15.  Prof. Colin McInnes, UNESCO Professor of HIV/AIDS and Health Security in Africa and Director of the Centre for Health and International Relations, Aberystwyth University

16.  Ms. Modi Mwatsama, Director, Global Health, UK Health Forum

17.  Dr. Joanna Nurse, Medical Adviser and Head of Department, Commonwealth Secretariat

18.  Dr. John Wyn Owen, Senior Health Advisor, InterAction Council; Chair, Health Protection Committee, Wales; Treasurer, Learned Society of Wales

19.  Mr. Irfon Rees, Deputy Director, Public Health Division, Welsh Government

20.  Prof. David Russell, Head of Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards – Wales; Head of WHO Collaborating Centre for Chemical Incidents

21.  Dr. Quentin Sandifer, Executive Director of Public Health Services and Medical Director, Public Health Wales

The InterAction Council extends its warmest appreciation for the generous support of

Public Health Wales and the Learned Society of Wales.