Global Responses to Public Health Emergencies and Ensuring Global Health Security


InterAction Council Members

1.     H.E. Mr. Olusegun Obasanjo (former President), Nigeria

2.     H.E. Mr. Andrés Pastrana (former President), Colombia


3.     Dr. Thomas S. Axworthy, Distinguished Senior Fellow, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto (Canada)

Special Guests

4.     Ms. Jess Camburn, Director, Enhancing Learning and Research for Humanitarian Assistance (U.K.)

5.     Prof. C.O. Onyebuchi Chukwu, former Minister of Health (Nigeria)

6.     Dr. Rainer Engelhardt, Assistant Deputy Minister/Chief Science Officer, Public Health Agency of Canada (Canada)

7.     Mr. Nicholas Fogg, former Mayor of Marlborough (U.K.)

8.     Dr. Jörg Hoffmann, Consultant in Communicable Disease Control, Public Health Wales (U.K.)

9.     Ms. Ruth Hopkins, Senior Lecturer, College of Human and Health Sciences, Swansea University (U.K.)

10.  Prof. Iliona Kickbusch, Director of the Global Health Programme, The Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva (Germany)

11.  Dr. Brian McCloskey, Director of Global Health, Public Health England; UK Strategy Advisor, Office of the UN Special Envoy on Ebola (U.K.)

12.  Prof. Colin McInnes, UNESCO Professor of HIV/AIDS and Health Security in Africa and Director of the Centre for Health and International Relations, Aberystwyth University (U.K.)

13.  Dr. Joanna Nurse, Medical Adviser and Head of Department, Commonwealth Secretariat (U.K.)

14.  Dr. John Wyn Owen, Chair, Health Protection Committee, Wales (U.K.)

15.  Dr. Mark Salter, Consultant in Global Health, Public Health England (U.K.)

16.  Dr. Quentin Sandifer, Executive Director of Public Health Services and Medical Director, Public Health Wales (U.K.)

17.  Dr. Shunmay Yeung, Clinical Senior Lecturer, Global Health Department & Clinical Research Department, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (Japan)