Firmness and Dialogue: How Best to Respond to Russia’s Challenges in Ukraine, Europe, and the West

List of Participants

InterAction Council Members

1.     The Rt. Hon. Jean Chrétien, Co-Chairman (former Prime Minister), Canada


2.     Dr. Thomas S. Axworthy, Distinguished Senior Fellow, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto (Canada)

Special Guests

3.     Ms. Katherine Balabanova, Toronto Regional Director and National Coordinator, Canada Eurasia Russia Business Association (Russia)

4.     H.E. Ambassador Mona Elisabeth Brøther, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Norway to Canada (Norway)

5.     Prof. Tony Burman, Distinguished Visiting Professor of Journalism, Ryerson University; Former Head CBC News and Al Jazeera English in Qatar (Canada)

6.     Ms. Heather A. Conley, Senior Vice President for Europe, Eurasia, and the Arctic; and Director, Europe Program, Center for Strategic and International Studies (U.S.A.)

7.     The Hon. Irwin Cotler, Emeritus Professor of Law at McGill University; former Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada; International Human Rights Lawyer (Canada)

8.     Mr. David Crane, Founder, Canada in the 21st Century (Canada)

9.     Dr. Brian Lee Crowley, Managing Director, Macdonald-Laurier Institute (Canada)

10.  H.E. Ambassador Alexander N. Darchiev, Ambassador and Plenipotentiary of the Russian Federation to Canada (Russia)

11.  Dr. Piotr Dutkiewicz, Professor of Political Science and the Director of the Centre for Governance and Public Policy, Carleton University (Poland)

12.  H.E. Ambassador Teuku Faizasyah, Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia to Canada (Indonesia)

13.  Mr. Robert Fotheringham, Managing Partner, Fotheringham & Fang (Canada)

14.  Dr. Fen Osler Hampson, Chancellor’s Professor, Carleton University; Distinguished Fellow & Director, Global Security & Politics, Centre for International Governance Innovation (Canada)

15.  Dr. Randall Hansen, Director of the Centre for European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto (Canada)

16.  Mr. Grant Kippen, Chief of Party, International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) in Yemen (Canada)

17.  Mr. Andranik Migranyan, Director, Institute for Democracy and Cooperation (Russia)

18.  Dr. Roland Paris, Director, Centre for International Policy Studies, University of Ottawa (Canada)

19.  The Hon. Roy J. Romanow, former Premier of Saskatchewan (Canada)

20.  Mr. Marko Shevchenko, Chargé d’Affaires a.i. of Ukraine to Canada (Ukraine) 

21.  H.E. Ambassador Werner Wnendt, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to Canada (Germany)

22.  Mr. Borys Wrzesnewskyj, Former Member of Parliament for Etobicoke Centre (Canada)

23.  Mr. Konstantin Zatulin, Director, Institute of CIS Countries in Moscow (Russia)