Future of Russia and Her Relations with European and Asian Neighbors and the United States

Chaired by Kalevi Sorsa

28-29 April 2000

Stockholm School of Economics

Stockholm, Sweden

List of Participants

InterAction Council Members
1. H.E. Chancellor Helmut Schmidt
2. H.E. Prime Minister Kalevi Sorsa
3. H.E. Prime Minister Ingvar Carlsson

High-level Experts
4. Mr. Jaakko Blomberg, Under-Secretary of State for Political Affairs, Finland
5. Dr. Marshall Goldman, Associate Director, Kathryn W. and Shelby C. Davis Center for Russian Studies, Harvard University
6. Mr. Erich Gysling, journalist, Switzerland
7. H.E. Dr. Bacharuddin Jusuf Habibie, former President of Indonesia
8. Mr. Jaakko Kalela, Secretary General, Office of the President of Finland and Advisor for foreign affairs to the President
9. Ms. Flora Lewis, International Herald Tribune
10. Ambassador Li Fenglin, Member of the Foreign Affairs Committee, National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference
11. Mrs. Katarzyna Pelczynska, representiing H. E. Justice Minister Hanna Suchocka of Poland
12. Prof. Richard Pipes, Harvard University
13. Mr. Johannes Linn, Vice President for Europe and Central Asia, World Bank
14. Dr. Susanne Schmidt
15. Ms. Lilia Shevtsova, Senior Associate, Russian Domestic Politics and Political Institutions, Carnegie Moscow Center
16. Ambassador Gerard Stoudman, Director of the OSCE, Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights
17. Dr. Pekka Sutela, Institute for Economies in Transition, Bank of Finland and Professor of Economics, University of Helsinki
18. Mr. Dimitri Trenin, Deputy Director, Carnegie Moscow Center Organizations
19. Sir Andrew Wood, former British Ambassador to Russia
Stockholm School of Economics:
20. Dr. Carl Johan Aberg, Chairman of the Board, SSE
21. Prof. Claes Robert Julander, president of SSE
22. Prof. Magnus Blomstrom, SSE
23. Prof. Theodor Leuenberger, SSE and Univ. of St. Gallen, Switzerland
24. Prof. Erik Berglof, Stockholm Institute of Transition Economics and East European Economies

Enlightened Leadership and Human Responsibility

Co-Chaired by Helmut Schmidt and Abdul Salam Majali

10-11 May 2000

Harvard University

Cambridge, Mass. USA

List of Participants

InterAction Council Members
1. H.E. Chancellor Helmut Schmidt (Honorary Chairman)
2. H.E. Prime Minister Abdul Salam Majali
3. H.E. President José Sarney

High-level Experts
4. Mr. Yasushi Akashi, former U.N. Undersecretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator
5. Ambassador Adrian Basora, Eisenhower Exchange Fellowships
6. Dr. Joanne B. Ciulla, Professor, Coston Family Chair of Leadership and Ethics, Jepson School of Leadership Studies, University of Richmond and UNESCO Chair in Leadership Studies, United Nations International Leadership Acadamy, Jordan
7. Lord Bernard Donoughue of Ashton, Visiting Professor in Government, London School of Economics
8. Dr. David Gergen, Co-Director, Center for Public Leadership, Harvard University
9. Mr. Kennedy Graham, Director, The United Nations University International Leadership Academy
10. Prof. Ronald Heifetz, Co-Director, Center for Public Leadership, Harvard University
11. Dr. Richard Jolly, Special Advisor to the Administrator and Architect of the Human Development Report, UNDP
12. Dr. Barbara Kellerman, Director, Center for the Advanced Study of Leadership, The James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership
13. Mr. William P. Laughlin, U.S. entrepreneur
14. Prof. Harold J. Leavitt, professor emeritus, Stanford Graduate School of Business
15. Mr. Michael A. Ledeen, former national security adviser to the U.S. President, and Resident Scholar in the Freedom Chair, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research
16. Prof. Jean Lipman-Blumen, former Special Advisor to the Domestic Policy Staff in the White House, and Thorton F. Bradshaw Professor of Public Policy, Peter F. Drucker Graduate School of Management, Claremont Graduate University
17. Dr. Joseph Nye Jr., Don K. Price Professor of Public Policy and Dean, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
18. Prof. Amin Saikal, Director, Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies, Australian National University
19. Prof. Anne-Marie Slaughter, Founding J. Sinclair Armstrong Professor of International, Foreign and Comparative Law, Harvard Law School
20. Prof. Tu Wei-ming, Professor of Chinese History and Philosophy and of Confucian Studies, Harvard University and Director, Harvard-Yenching Institute
21. Ms. Flora Lewis, International Herald Tribune

1. Ms. Laura Liswood, Secretary General, Council of Women World Leaders
2. Motoyoshi Noro, Special Advisor on Partnerships/Japan Affairs, UNDP